Waiting On God

And it shall come to pass, that before they call,
I will answer; and while they are yet speaking, I will hear.

(Isaiah 65:24)

The God that is with me on top of the mountains is the same God that is with me in the valleys.  He has promised He will never leave me nor forsake me.  He is the same yesterday, today, and forever!!
Yesterday, at 7:45 in the morning, my wife assembled my children in the living room because we needed to pray.  We were facing a difficult situation, and quite honestly I was a little bit discouraged.  A few minutes before, I had told my wife that I did not want to take matters in to my own hand, but I wanted to see God “deliver us.”  She said that we shouldn’t take it into our own hands, but leave it with the Lord. So, the five of us gathered together to pray and we laid our burden at the feet of the Lord.
Thirty minutes later, my wife called me from the church academy to let me know that God had answered our prayer, and that it had been answered several hours before…..we just didn’t know it. Before calling me, she want to each one of our children and let them know what God had already done.  Speaking with our son, James, he said, “Really, that was fast.”  Cate then let him know that God had answered the prayer before Daddy had prayed. His eyes lit up with amazement, as he said, “Wow, really. That’s cool.”
How precious it was for my wife to have that moment with each of our kids and to show them that our God is a personal God who delights to work in the hearts of men and to answer their prayers.
I’m thankful that I did not take matters in to my own hand.  You see, if I would have done it my way, I wouldn’t have a testimony to share with others, and my children would have missed out on an opportunity to see God work in their own lives.  Let us not run ahead of God and miss out on what He’s doing.

Leave a Reply

