I Remember The Day

I remember the day as if it were yesterday.  Twenty-five years ago in a small town located in Central Illinois at Elmwood Baptist Church, an Evangelist by the name of Jim Broom preached the gospel of Jesus Christ, and I, a 13 years old boy, went forward and asked the Lord Jesus Christ to be MY personal Saviour!!  Hallelujah, what a Saviour!!  He said, “YES!!”  With His own blood He washed away my sins and placed upon me, His own righteousness.

Tomorrow, with joy & thankfulness, I will remember that day.  My life was forever changed at that moment.  No, I have not been the perfect Christian in the last  2 ½ decades.  I have played the part of the prodigal son, I have wandered from the fold, I have left my first love, I have ran from God.  But when I knelt to pray, when I repented, when I confessed my waywardness, God, the gracious Heavenly Father, with opened arms welcomed me back into the fold.  He never gave up on me!! He’s so good to me!!

Beyond all that I could ever have asked or hoped for, God has blessed me.  Almost 13 years ago, he gave me a wonderful & godly completer, my wife, Cate.  Just over 10 years ago, he blessed us with our daughter, and He has given us two more sons since then.  I served as the pastor of a church in Nebraska, and I now serve Him in North Carolina.  My children have all been saved and baptized!!  Surely, my cup runneth over!!

Lord willing, if Jesus tarries, I look forward to celebrating my 50th “birthday” in another twenty-five years!

I REMEMBER THE DAY
WHEN THE LORD SAVED ME
ALL OF HEAVEN CAME DOWN
I WAS HAPPY AND FREE
GLORY FILLED MY SOUL
FOR I KNEW THE LORD HAD MADE ME WHOLE
I SHALL NEVER FORGET THE DAY WHEN THE LORD SAVED ME.


Elmwood Baptist Church


              
Leave a Reply

