A Father Being Molded By The Heavenly Father

Having been a father for over 10 years and in the ministry for almost 8 of those years, my children; you could say, have been raised in a Christian home.

All three of our children have been in church since they were less than two weeks old. Each one of them has been taught to sit in a church service; they have participated in various programs, visitation, canvassing, etc.  My wife taught our oldest two at home in the beginning.  They are all now enrolled in the academy at the church where we are serving the Lord.

In the last 18 months, all three children have made a profession of faith and have recently made the individual decision to be baptized. We are so thankful for the spiritual growth that we are seeing in our children.

An outsider looking in would say (and they have) that Cate and I are doing a wonderful job raising our children in the “nurture and admonition of the Lord.”  While God has blessed our family and our efforts to raise Godly children, I am becoming more and more aware of my shortcomings as a father. (No, I am not a pessimist who is too hard on himself. Rather, I am a Christian who by the grace of God is being molded by my Heavenly Father and being shown  areas that I need to strengthen in my life, my home, and my family.) In the last several weeks, I have prayed and asked the Lord to help me in this area and to show me the things that I need to work on in my own life and in the life of my children.  I am so thankful for the wife that the Lord has provided for our home, as she has been a tremendous help in this area. Together, we are already seeing some progress in the daily lives of our children.  Over the next several posts, I will be sharing some things that we are doing and some thoughts that the Lord has laid on my heart concerning a critical passage of Scripture dealing with the home and the responsibility that my wife and I share.

I trust that you will stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

